“A must-see every year! This tour provides me the opportunity to experience the historic charm and beauty of Savannah’s finest homes.”
– Teresa Pace, Jacksonville, Florida
Tour of Homes
Saturday, October 21, 2017
St. Vincent’s Academy will once again host this popular self-guided tour of the original 1845 Convent building and several private homes in Savannah’s Historic District.
This year’s Fall Tour of Homes promises to be a fascinating look inside six residences in Savannah’s Historic District and the original 1845 Convent building. Some of the homes reflect their origins in architectural style, interiors and furnishings, while others offer an exciting, eclectic approach to downtown living.
Certainly, the centerpiece of the tour is the elegant Tea, which is served on the grounds of the Convent. St. Vincent’s Academy students will serve a delicate repast of tea, homemade confections, and traditional tea sandwiches.
This event is held annually to benefit the preservation of the historic 1845 convent building. Come see for yourself why native Savannahians and out-of-towners alike say this annual fall event is “the best tour in Savannah.”
Saturday, October 21, 2017
Tour Hours: 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Onsite docents will provide history and answer questions.
Parking is free on Saturday on all Savannah streets.
Most of the tour sites are NOT wheelchair accessible and may feature high stoops with steps to climb.
In order to protect these historic sites, no high-heeled shoes, strollers or photography will be allowed.
Self-guided walking tour. A municipal shuttle bus runs throughout the downtown historic district. For specific bus route information, visit: www.catchacat.org.
St. Vincent’s Academy (SVA) reserves the right to cancel touring of any site due to unforeseen circumstances on the day of the tour. SVA and participating tour homeowners assume no liability for any personal injury or loss incurred at any site. SVA also reserves the right to refuse admittance to any person at any time.
Before September 30, $40 per person for online and phone orders.
After September 30, $45 per person for online and phone orders.
Three Ways to Purchase Tickets in Advance:
- Buy Tickets
- Call (912) 236.5505 for credit card purchases and information. Tickets will be held at the tour ticket office for pickup, which will open Friday from 2:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
- Purchase tickets at any a number of business (list coming soon)
- Call (912) 236-5505 for further ticketing information.
To purchase tickets on the day of the tour, go to the tour ticket office in Walsh Hall at St. Vincent’s Academy, located on the corner of Lincoln and Harris Streets, between 9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. Cash, checks and credit cards accepted.
Please allow three and a half to four hours to visit all tour sites.
508 East Perry Street (c. 2000)
This delightful 1841 square foot cottage is located a few steps from beautiful Crawford Square (c. 1841), the only square in which you can easily see the original cistern. The house was built in 2000 and purchased by a graduate of the St. Vincent’s class of 1970 in May of 2016. She and her husband, both Savannah natives living in another location in Savannah, enjoy playing tourists on weekends while staying in their cottage in Savannah’s Landmark Historic District.
The couple had a wonderful time renovating the house and working with their friend and award-winning designer, Jane Coslick. There are fascinating and colorful accessories to draw the eye, including an amazing refrigerator in the kitchen. The use of vintage and contemporary furnishings creates an interesting mix and engages the observer.
There is unique wall art throughout the house that provides great eye-popping focal points. The portrait in the living is particularly interesting and was painted by local artist, Anna Koncul Lee, a St. Vincent’s Academy graduate of the class of 1997. Appropriately, the airplane art was created by a Gulfstream Aerospace artist. The bedrooms both have interesting pieces such as a hanging cowhide and the Marilyn Monroe print. By all means, do not miss the narrow side courtyard that is such an imaginative use of space.
When you visit this little gem, you will understand why the owners love spending weekends in their home town get away!
402 East Liberty Street (c. 1883)
This brick home serves as the eastern most anchor of an entire row of houses built as rental property for Mary and Nicholas Jones. The original owners emigrated from Ireland and eventually arrived in Savannah in 1870, where Mr. Jones worked as a police officer. The original address was 48 Liberty Street East and was later renumbered to its current 402 East Liberty St. Nicholas did eventually live in 402 East Liberty St. as his primary residence with his second wife, Annie. Annie later inherited the property and, upon her death, the property was left to her good friend Miss Lizzie Moriarty. Within this year the home has been lovingly and meticulously restored. The floors are original heart of pine and have been refinished throughout the house. Fortunately, the original plaster ceiling medallions were found in the attic, restored and placed in their former locations in the living and dining rooms. In both those rooms there are also original marble fireplaces. Perhaps, the Jones family lived in a Northern U.S. city prior to moving to Savannah, as these fireplaces are more reminiscent of something seen the northeastern U.S. rather than the style seen in most homes in Savannah. The new owner has attempted to preserve as much as possible while updating the home. In decorating this home, the owner preferred not to reside in a home reminiscent of a “museum” and has furnished the home with mostly new furnishings in a mix of classic and modern styles.
405 East Charlton Street (c. 1882)
405 East Charlton Street is part of four homes in a row built by J.J. Dale. They are attached to one another. This row is constructed of brick overlaid with stucco and reflects the Italianate style. With their segmental arched openings and raised basements, these homes are quite distinctive. The entire row was restored in1965 when there was a tremendous amount of restoration going on in Savannah. The house is across from Troup Square, named for George Troup who was a Georgia Governor, Congressman and Senator. The extensive art collection in the apartment is most impressive and was done mainly by local artists. There are exposed brick walls and a wonderful eclectic collection of furnishings including antiques, retro and contemporary.
407 East Charlton Street (c. 1882)
Located at the southwest section of the Troup Ward and on Troup Square, this house was constructed in 1882 for J.J. Dale. It is part of a four-unit row house of the type typically constructed in Savannah just before and in the decades following the Civil War. These groups of row houses surrounding Troup Square give the neighborhood the atmosphere of a European city.
The home was built with three stories over a high basement and with a flat roof. The design was practical as well as aesthetically pleasing because the first floor was likely to be damp and dusty due to unpaved streets. Originally, the first floor of this house served as the kitchen, and meals were prepared here and brought upstairs to the dining room. This house has a finished fourth story complete with exposed brick walls and a large skylight that provides natural lighting.
In 2004, the former owners expanded the third story by adding a master bedroom and bath over the parlor-level kitchen in addition to the three-story cast iron balcony at the rear of the house. The current owners purchased the house in 2013 and have decorated using traditional and eclectic furnishings and art they have collected over decades.
The first floor is a furnished three-room apartment with a full bath and kitchen. At the rear is an enclosed courtyard containing perennials, seasonal flowering plants, and a wall fountain – a serene setting for morning meditation, afternoon nap or evening cocktails…or all of these activities.
23 W. Perry Street (c. 1854)
John Stoddard, a Savannah-based planter and merchant originally from Massachusetts, built the house is 1854. West Perry Street hosts a row of five homes that Stoddard built during the period, four of which are very similar in style and layout. Number twenty-three is one of these four. The main building was reconstituted as a single-family residence in 2010, by the current owners. It consists of three floors over a basement (four floors) totaling close to 6,000 square feet. Many of the details, including plaster moldings, hardwood floors, pocket doors, pulley-driven windows and ceiling pendants, are original to the structure. The rear of the building was expanded in 2010 to accommodate a larger, modern kitchen and create a third- floor outdoor living space. The courtyard connects the main structure to a two-story carriage house with approximately 1,200 square feet of living space and frontage on West Perry Lane.
Between the two buildings, the property contains nine fireplaces. The façade of the main house features a parlor-level balcony with elaborate ironwork that was typical of the period during which it was built. The current owners managed an extensive two-year renovation that completely overhauled and updated the interior of the house, while preserving as much of the historical integrity as possible.
207 East Liberty Street – Convent
St. Vincent’s Convent was designed by the noted architect Charles Cluskey and built in 1845 on land that was once farmland. Tour participants will see the Convent’s private chapel, parlor, grotto area, and halls, which feature beautiful stained glass, sacred statuary and paintings. To guide tourists along the way, there will be several “nuns” (Academy students) wearing the three major traditional habits of the Sisters of Mercy spanning from the 1840s through the 1970s.
The collection of memorabilia displayed in Heritage Hall documents Savannah’s history against the backdrop of an all-girls education at the world’s oldest Mercy high school in continuous existence.
14 West Harris Street (c. 1842)
This townhouse and its twin, the mirror-image townhouse adjacent to it, were designed by architect Charles Cluskey. The home was built for the sisters Eugenia and Louise Kerr in 1842 by their father. Renovated in 1986 by architect Juan Bertotto, this 5,663 square foot home has many of the original architectural features; plaster moldings, a fourth floor skylight, black marble mantles in the living and dining rooms and heart pine beams on the ground level. Faux paintings with tromp l’oeil decorate the walls of the kitchen and atrium. The five bedroom, four bathroom home also features a carraige house and private garden.